You can start recordings on both the Spiideo Web app and iOS app. The most common use case for starting recordings on the Spiideo Web app is if you are using the Calendar feature to schedule recordings in advance. However, if you would like to start/stop recordings manually, this can easily be done from the iOS app!

  1. Web app - Starting a new recording from the Spiideo Web app (app.spiideo.net)

  2. Web app - Scheduling recordings in advance

  3. iOS app - Starting a new recording from the iOS app (iPhone/iPad)

Before you can start a recording, make sure you read the article on Getting access to record at your arenas. This will explain how to give recording access to yourself and others which you will need before you can start or schedule recordings in Spiideo.


1. Starting a new recording from the Spiideo web (app.spiideo.net)

Once you have access, you will see the Start a new recording button when you click on the Recordings tab.

To start a new recording in Spiideo, go to Recordings > Start a new recording

Select the Scene > Title the recording > Share with a Group

NOTE: Remember to select who you want to share the recording with. If you share the recording privately, then it will not show for other users in the account. If you do not see a Group to share with, you can read Working with Groups.

What if I don't see the Scene in the dropdown?

  • If the Scene does not appear in the dropdown, it could mean that you do not have access yet.

  • Only administrators can give access to other users to record.

  • If you are an administrator, go to Scenes > Recording Access > Add your email > Refresh > Try to Start a new recording again! You can also read Getting access to record on your scenes.

  • If the the camera systems are offline or not yet installed, you will not be able to record

IMPORTANT: In order to share with a group, you must be added to the group! If you are not seeing a Group appear, Go to Groups > Add your Spiideo email > Add user > Refresh and try again to share the recording. You can read more about Working with Groups.

  • Anyone that is part of the sharing group will have access to view, tag, etc. both live and after the recording has ended.

  • If you are part of a League Exchange (i.e. conference or league), then you will also be able to share the recording to all the teams in that conference/league.

  • Sharing with groups allows you to share recordings internally

  • Sharing with a conference/league through League Exchange or Game exchange allows you to share video externally - to organizations outside of your own through Spiideo.

Select how you would like to store the video

There are two options, either as a Full recording or as a Trimmed recording

  • With a Full recording your entire recording will be stored in the Spiideo cloud.

  • The length of the entire recording will be counted against your cloud storage quota (you can increase your storage quota if it gets full - contact your Spiideo sales representative or support@spiideo.com to learn more).

  • With a Trimmed recording, after 10 days, it will delete the entire recording except all of the tagged events (pre and post roll of the tags) in the recording.

PRO TIP: You can use the duration tag to tag longer sequences (i.e. first half and second half) to make sure all important time sequences are kept after the recording is trimmed.

Option to make the recording available for download

If you want to make the recording downloadable more quickly, then select the Download option and toggle from off to on. Common reasons to export full games are:

  • Sharing with opponents and/or leagues and conferences.

  • Using the footage in other tools you have in your process (i.e. Sportscode, Dartfish, Instat, etc.).

  • Files will download as mp4 (H264) and will download straight to your computer.

Now you are ready to start the recording!

When the recording is started, it will appear in the Recordings list view.

  • Everyone you have shared the recording with via Groups will see the recording live or afterwards.

  • To see the live recording (with approximately 45 seconds to 1 minute delay), you simply press the list item and you will enter the video player mode.

  • It will take a 1-2 minutes before you are able to see the recording live after it is started.

  • Any administrator of the account can stop an on-going recording.


2. Scheduling recordings in advance

The Calendar tool is a great way to automate the starting and stopping of recordings. You can schedule an entire week's worth of practices and games days or weeks in advance!

This feature is only available on the Spiideo Web app (app.spiideo.net).

Go to the Calendar tab and schedule your recording!


3. Starting a new recording from the iOS app (iPhone/iPad)

Before starting a recording, make sure you read the article on Getting access to record at your scenes. This will show you how to give yourself and others access to record. You need access to record before you can start any recording in Spiideo.

Once you have access, you will see the New recording button when you click on the Recordings tab.

To start a new recording in Spiideo, Go to ( + ) New Recording

NOTE: If the you do not see the ( + ) New recording icon, then it means you do not have access to record yet. Go to app.spiideo.net > Scenes > Recording Access > Add your username > Refresh the iOS app > Try to Start a new recording again.

Select the Scene > Title > Share with a Group

What if I don't see the Scene in the dropdown?

  • If the Scene does not appear in the dropdown, it could mean that you do not have access yet.

  • Only administrators can give access to other users to record.

  • If you are an administrator, go to Scenes on app.spiideo.net > Recording Access > Add your email > Refresh > Try to Start a new recording again! You can also read Getting access to record on your scenes.

  • If the the camera systems are offline or not yet installed, you will not be able to record

IMPORTANT: In order to share with a group, you must be added to the group! If you are not seeing a Group appear, Go to Groups > Add your Spiideo email > Add user > Refresh and try again to share the recording. You can read more about Working with Groups.

  • Anyone that is part of the sharing group will have access to view, tag, etc. both live and after the recording has ended.

  • If you are part of a League Exchange (i.e. conference or league), then you will also be able to share the recording to all the teams in that conference/league.

  • Sharing with groups allows you to share recordings internally

  • Sharing with a conference/league through League Exchange or Game exchange allows you to share video externally - to organizations outside of your own through Spiideo.

Select how you would like to store the video

There are two options, either as a Full recording or as a Trimmed recording

  • With a Full recording your entire recording will be stored in the Spiideo cloud.

  • The length of the entire recording will be counted against your cloud storage quota (you can increase your storage quota if it gets full - contact your Spiideo sales representative or support@spiideo.com to learn more).

  • With a Trimmed recording, after 10 days, it will delete the entire recording except all of the tagged events (pre and post roll of the tags) in the recording.

PRO TIP: You can use the duration tag to tag longer sequences (i.e. first half and second half) to make sure all important time sequences are kept after the recording is trimmed. This can only be done on app.spiideo.net.

Option to make the recording available for download

If you want to make the recording downloadable more quickly, then select the Download option and toggle from off to on. Common reasons to export full games are:

  • Sharing with opponents and/or leagues and conferences.

  • Using the footage in other tools you have in your process (i.e. Sportscode, Dartfish, Instat, etc.).

  • Files will download as mp4 (H264) and will download straight to your computer.

Now you are ready to start the recording!

When the recording is started, it will appear in the Recordings list view.

  • Everyone you have shared the recording with via Groups will see the recording live or afterwards.

  • To see the live recording (with approximately 45 seconds to 1 minute delay), you simply press the list item and you will enter the video player mode.

  • It will take a 1-2 minutes before you are able to see the recording live after it is started.

  • Any administrator of the account can stop an on-going recording.


Did this answer your question?